Going Crazy

I didn’t realize it until just now when I looked it up, but  I posted my “Deuces Wild” post exactly a month ago today.

The initial challenge was to run 2 miles and drink 2 liters of water a day for 2 weeks. I pushed through the two weeks out of sheer stubbornness even though I probably should have stopped when my knee started bothering me.

Now exactly one month later, I find that it’s almost a breeze to get through two miles. I’m not doing it everyday anymore because well 12-hour work days and 4-hour nights of sleep really don’t make that possible, but I think I have it at an even 5 times a week.

The one thing that is driving me crazy is my diet. I feel like I’ve gone off the proverbial deep end. I hadn’t realized it’s been a whole month without potato chips and candy. I think I’ve had 4 Cokes in that time. I haven’t sweetened my coffee or tea with sugar.

That’s an amazing thing for me.

It figures though. I have such an “all or nothing” personality that I’m actually scared to let myself eat just one potato chip. For some reason, I’m sure that it will just open this floodgate of junk food.

And I really don’t want that to happen because simultaneously I have run out of vitamins. I struggle, struggle, struggle when I don’t take iron supplements and for some reason I haven’t had nearly the same bad effects as I usually do. I’m sure it has to do with my overall health. It’s really funny to me that at 26, I’m probably in the best shape of my life.

Go figure.

Leave a Reply

