I hope it gives you….Magic #29

I have just listened to “Gives You Hell” by the All-American Rejects twenty-nine times in a row.

Yup, 29.

Why you ask? Why not, really is the greater question. That’s always the greater question with me. If you can’t give me one good “why not” then I’m probably going to forge ahead. Probably not so much fun for the people around me, but I’m really getting off track here.

So this song is absolutely hilarious.

My first favorite line is:

And you’re still probably working at a 9 to 5 pace
I wonder how bad that tastes

Umm..it tastes pretty darn bad. I think that’s why I like this song so much. I definitely am not trying to make it about anybody other than myself. You have to think about though what would give you “hell” to look at everyday in the face. I suppose something that tastes as bad as a 9 to 5 job would do the trick for me. And here I sit…..

And then….

Now where’s your picket fence love
And where’s that shiny car,
And did it ever get you far

This is my absolute favorite part. I know so many people that work for this “image” of success and happiness. And all I want to do is flitter around as my mother describes it. Yes, there was a time when I wanted a house (not really a white picket fence, but definitely a house). Maybe I will again some day, but it’s definitely not my ultimate goal.

Experience is.

That’s why this is so easy for me. That’s probably why I will never have a job for longer that I have had one. The concept of a career seems deathly boring. The concept of staying in one job for even five years seems deathly boring. Perhaps the same task, but definitely not in the same environment.

And my last favorite part….

You’ve never seemed so tense love
I’ve never seen you fall so hard,
Do you know where you are?

This part makes me laugh because every time I think people fear that I’m going to fall flat on my face, I yet again make it just fine. And, yes, I know exactly where I am. I am…

Exxxploring.

I think possibility right now is the most amazing experience ever. That’s probably the one reason that I revel in job searches. You never know what will turn up. It’s kind of exciting. Ok, not kind of, but I’m trying to temper it with reasonable judgment and adult-like behavior. Well, not really. I just feel that I need to say things like that from time to time to keep people from worrying.

Like I say to one of my best friends, “I go to work. I pay my bills. Can’t get much more adult than that.”

I’d just like to subtract that “I go to work” part and then I’ll be totally set. Until then, I do hope it gives me hell. As long as it does that, I’ll keep trying to figure this out.

The one thing that I do know for absolutely certainty is that when I figured out that I am just going to spend my life doing exactly what makes me happy at that moment, I pretty much became free…..

Leave a Reply

