Dodgers (1-0) 4, Padres 1

(The other thing that you should know about me is that I absolutely love box scores. I like the mess of numbers that paint an entire baseball game in a compact space. So, along with green grass, Dodgers, the new GameDay, I also love that I now get to peruse box scores every morning. Good bye world politics, baseball is back! Just kidding.)

A few notes about yesterday’s game:

  1. I was happy to see how well Kuroda pitched. I wasn’t nervous about him in particular, but it the pitching staff as a whole. I think he set a good tone.
  2. It gave me goosebumps to watch the highlights of Jonathan Broxton reaching 100 mph on the radar gun. Not only overpowering the hitter, but with pretty amazing precision for day one of the season. (I prefer power pitching to power hitting any day of the week.)
  3. Kemp’s diving catch was another opening day treat!
  4. I really like that all of this was accomplished without Manny getting a hit and with Loney and Kemp batting in the 6 & 7 spots. We just might have something going this year.

Is it too early to get excited? Nah. Especially when you can see this……

April 6, 2009

Leave a Reply

