San Diego 4, Dodgers 3 (2-2)

Two weeks ago, if you had asked me if I would be happy with a split in San Diego for the opening series of the year, I probably would have said yes. Unfortunately, foresight and actual sight are never exactly the same. I was extremely disappointed in the way the game ended yesterday.

To begin with, I have scrawled in my notebook at the numbers 27-23-26. Those are Kershaw’s pitch counts for the first three innings. That is definitely not going to go well. I don’t like the idea of a starting pitcher who goes five innings. I really don’t. Kershaw ending the fifth with 105 pitches is just not a good thing. All of that being said, he threw hard and he threw well. He deserved the win  yesterday. His line of  5.0 IP, 2 H, 1 R, 1 ER, 4 BB, 6 SO, 1.80 ERA was more than I could hope for.

I really just don’t want to be in a situation where he’s going to throw hard for five innings, and we’re going to be forced to hold our breaths for the remaining four innings because of our bullpen.

Pitching aside, here is the top half of the box score:

49topThe two troubling lines in that are the Team RISP and the Team LOB. Not that I’m panicking after game 4. Just noting things to keep a lookout for.

And for the pitching….

4-9bottomI’m not going to revisit my pitching comments. I do like Belisario though. On a more technical note, I love that they now count holds (I know it’s been a few years) as stats. And I doubly love that blown save is counted as well.

On to Arizona and James McDonald. (Side note about McDonald: When we were in Arizona, he was walking by and told fans he had to get to the field to warmup, which is totally understandable. This kid (probably 8 or 9) was pretty insistent so McDonald came running back and signed an autograph. Any guy who knows that kids are important, is a winner in my book!)

Leave a Reply

