Lucky 27 (Part 2)

Yesterday was my 27th birthday. I was extremely intent upon not being depressed about turning 27. I think what was harder than turning 27 was knowing that Ruben was turning 17. That being said, a plan began to form…

This whole thing started when I realized the Dodgers Opening Day was going to fall on my birthday. So, I knew that would be a lot of fun to begin with. And then after an interesting night with my parents at the Yardhouse two weekends ago, I figured why not go back for my birthday.

So, Sunday morning, I went to Easter mass with my family. It was a very nice mass, and it made me think that I miss my

Ruben & Me

Ruben & Me

childhood parish a little. I spent most of the afternoon with my parents before going home to spend some time in the gym and take a quick nap.

My parents and Gabriel and Ruben picked me up for dinner at the Yardhouse. And, so began the fun. David and Laura met us there. And Teri and Tanaya and Ryan soon followed.

All other comments about that night aside, it made me fairly certain that I have some pretty amazing people in my life. I couldn’t help but feel overwhelmingly fortunate.

For my actual birthday, Tanaya and I were at Opening Day. We have a huge secret about what happened yesterday, and I’m pretty sure we’ll take it to our graves. However, it was nice to see that opening ceremonies.

From there, I headed back to my parents house for some cheesecake and to find that they bought me something that I apparently talk about way too much, an Aerogarden!

I am extremely grateful for the chance to have celebrated life in such a wonderful way. I think that every time I really see how amazing the people I love are, I am absolutely blown away. I’m pretty sure I’m one of the luckiest people on this planet.

Opening Day!

Opening Day!

Leave a Reply

