Quests

I used to watch this show called Cybill. The main character had a teenage daughter who would climb up to the Hollywood sign and sit in the “O.”  (The first ‘O’ in case you’re wondering. Not one of those in the ‘OO’ succession.) Anyways, I’ve wanted to do that for years and years.

I didn’t wake up this morning with the intention of doing it. Or even knowing that I would be anywhere near it.

Ah, but life is a wonderfully funny little thing.

We had a photo shoot today. It occurred right at the base of the trail that leads up to that grand sign. So, of course, I thought no time like the present. Fortunately, I have two wonderful friends who (a) didn’t laugh and (b) were willing to take pictures.

I knew that the sign was off limits. I remember watching a TV show that said that. But, well, I don’t know. It just seemed that there would be a way.

We hiked up for a good hour before we were right behind the sign. We found an opening in the fence and were just about to wander under it when we headed down the path a little ways. They’re not joking about this not getting near the sign situation. Nine different cameras pointed on the sign, one on each letter. AND security cameras from the tops of each letter.

Considering certain other situations that have occurred in my life in the past couple of months, I figured it was not a good time to test out my luck.

I did, however, slide under the fence and have my picture taken somewhat close to the backside of the letters. And…there’s always next time.

Prior the the "O" part of the day....this was a lot steeper than the pictures shows.

Prior to the "O" part of the day....this was a lot steeper than the pictures shows.

This series of pictures is my favorite ever in life.

This series of pictures is my favorite ever in life.

So close.....this was really a ridiculous amount of fun.

So close.....this was really a ridiculous amount of fun.

Leave a Reply

