Work Hangover?

One of my favorite things about being a teacher was that I was mentally stimulated and challenged all day, every day. I would become absolutely exhausted. I remember a friend saying he couldn’t talk to me for a couple hours after the school day because my throat would be exhausted and my brain would be unable to process coherent sentences.

After two years of working in an office, I realize that I MISS that. I miss doing things that are a challenge and that allow me to create things.

For the past few months, I’ve been in a whirlwind. I’ve started writing again, blogging mostly, but also working on fiction. I’ve edited tons of pictures. I’ve been creating curriculum. I’ve substitute taught, edited videos, and overall had a good time. The end result is that I go to bed completely exhausted and I love it.

I realize that I think I could live like this. The only problem is that when you’re working on multiple things and you’re in charge of them, it’s very hard to get in downtime. I’ve been careful to get in sufficient amounts of exercise. And it’s very nice to be able to take a three-hour break to watch the Lakers beat the Magic. Inevitably though, that last piece of work finishes around 2 a.m. and I wake up the next morning so confused as to what happened the night before: a true work hangover.

It’s absolutely hilarious, and I’m really appreciating it!

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

