Ms. S. Goes to 4th Grade

So, I used to be a teacher. I taught high school. I loved, loved, loved it. For six years, I worked at two different high schools. I have to say that I learned more about life from my students than I ever learned in school. It’s a funny thing. I left for reasons that are best not explained in this post just about two years ago for an office job. It was an okay thing to do for a living, but nothing compares with teaching.

I spent a few weeks in May substitute teaching for a 7th and 8th grade class. If that wasn’t shock enough, I started teaching 4th and 5th grade summer school today. My biggest fear going in to today? That I wasn’t going to be able to be nice enough.

You see, I have a certain sarcasm about me. I have an no-nonsense attitude about some things. I just didn’t see how that was going to fit in with these little-r kids. To add to the confusion, I spent my last three years of full-time teaching in an all-boys school. This is a an all-girls program. So from age to gender, this is a complete 180 from what I’m used to.

Well, I survived the first day. Not only did I survive, but I had an awful lot of fun. They’re very, very cute.

I came home with that special kind of exhaustion that I have missed from teaching. It’s a mental challenge, a physical one, and sometimes an emotional one. I have to admit that I am pretty sore right now. It’s been awhile since I’ve been on my feet all day. Not to mention, with the younger ones, the time I had to spend on the playground. That being said, I probably sat down for a total of 10 minutes in 8 hours.

The highlights?

  • A girl calling me over to tell me that she and her mom like Santana, too, after she realized my t-shirt was emblazoned with a Santana designed guitar.
  • The same little girl coming up to me during lunch time and saying, “oh, I forgot to say I like Jimi Hendrix, too.”
  • I asked the students to tell me something that would make me remember them. One little girl responded by telling me that she has survived pneumonia twice.
  • My interns. My interns. My interns. I love them. They’re awesome girls. And they’re great with the kids.
  • My first hug around the waist from a student (honestly, not sure about that one yet. I’ve always enjoyed a no-touching policy.)

All in all, I have to say that I’m exhaustedly energized. It was a great first day.

Leave a Reply

