Fresh Cantaloupe & Other Loves

Mmm. I’m going to start with sleep. A whole 8 hours of it. Somewhere around 11 p.m. on Friday night, I was at the shaky-must-sleep-now-or-collapse point. So, what did I do? Went home to work. But this morning, I woke up after 6 hours of sleep and told myself “no” and put a pillow over my head.

Now, I feel a little over-rested, but that’s never a bad thing in the long run.

And my second love of the day: freshly sliced cantaloupe. That was my noon breakfast. After 2.5 cups of coffee. (Ah, I have cut sugar out again. Of the granulated sort. Fruit is my substitute.)

Workaholism. Missed it. Seriously. I know that sounds masochistic, but I enjoyed the last week because it was a challenge.CIMG5829

Angel Dance. The Los Lobos (of course). It reminds me of the best part about teaching.  And they’ll laugh up and down the hall, Don’t you go shout when you hear them fall, Let them fly across the wall, Let them cry – ’til the morning calls, Little two step angel dance…

Workaholism II. Nine hours of work on a Saturday. Morning meeting and photo editing.

IMG00364Casey Blake. For real. Just one of those guys that goes out there every single day and does what he’s supposed to do. He’s ridiculously overshadowed by Manny and the Dodger youth  movement. I’ll take a .282 AVG and a .358 OBP any day.

Scoresheets. Love them. Missed them. Thought they started to distract my enjoyment of the game, but really they only add to it.

Running & Yoga. Never did I think I would list running or yoga on a list of loves, but here they are. I love running because it’s taken me 5 months to get to a point where it’s easy. I’m proud of myself for sticking to it. And I love the Bikram yoga that I learned (minus the heated room in my home) because it’s made my back stronger than it’s every been.

Naps. Another line about sleep. But the afternoon nap has reappeared. Instantly. Without even thinking about it, I quickly regressed to work-gym-sleep-work-eat-sleep-repeat.

Baseball in August. It’s giving Baseball in July a run for it’s money.

Leave a Reply

