My Day in…Quotes

I introduced Arthur Miller’s “The Crucible” to my juniors today. I gave a brief overview of Miller’s biography and the inspiration McCarthyism was for his play. Through the explanation, I had a student ask me to explain Communism. I gave a very brief explanation and before moving on to other things asked if there were more questions.

“I’m still trying to understand Communism,” a student said. “So, basically, you’re saying that a communist would be….like…..well….like, you?”

Awesome.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Then, I had one of my coworkers come to me with a copy of the test she is giving in her class tomorrow.

“I just wanted to know if you had a few minutes to take a look at my written questions,” she said.

Umm, sure.

“It’s just that I watch you work your @$$ off everyday,” she continued. “And I would hate to undermine anything you were doing in your English class.”

Probably one of the best compliments I’ve ever received as a teacher.

Leave a Reply

