Eric Gagne & We’re 2 Weeks Away!

Eric Gagne is one of those players who is a baseball “forgive-all” for me. Okay, maybe that’s extreme. But for a team that routinely lets go of players I love, I think it’s good news that we finally get one back–before he’s 45.

And for my second exaggeration, this would have been like signing Mike Piazza back in 1999. I would have considered it an act of reconciliation for having my heart ripped out by Bob Graziano and his Fox cronies.

Signing Gagne to a minor league contract, however, was not the most important news from this week in Dodgerland. Jamie McCourt’s increased monthly support request was, I think, perfect timing. Two weeks before the spring season opens up, she ups the ante. To a remarkable darn-near-$1-million per month. Personally, I would have taken the $300,000 a month and asked Frank to sign a starting pitcher, but he didn’t marry me, unfortunately–for all of Los Angeles.

I think, though, for the second spring in a row, I’m most interested in seeing what Clayton Kershaw looks like this spring. I’m hoping he’s recovered from his 2009 off-season, gotten some rest, and some perspective.

And to round out my interests for the spring–Blake DeWitt, A.J. Ellis, and James McDonald.

Happy almost-Spring Training!

Leave a Reply

