“I Prayed for the Sun Just for You”

I have had, in my lifetime, the blessing of some amazing mentors. People who were actually assigned to me to help me learn to teach but became wonderful support systems, sources of information, and really good friends.

One of these beautiful people–from 3 jobs ago–called me up a couple of weeks ago and invited me to lunch. I finally had the opportunity to meet her on Wednesday afternoon. It was gloomy and overcast as I got ready in the morning, and I was a little disappointed in the gray clouds because she had promised lunch in the marina.

I made my way to her home, and she invited me in. We always talked about work when we were working so it was an amazing glimpse into the life of a 72-year-old woman (sorry for putting that out there!) who has done so much, loved so much, served so much.

She showed me her pictures–of family and her travels. Of flowers. Of caves. Of waterfalls.

At one point, I told her something I’ve always known but was solidified in this visit: “You are an amazing, amazing woman, and I hope you teach for twenty more years.” She laughed.

She took me out to lunch, and we sat in the brilliant sunshine.

“When I woke up this morning,” she said, “I prayed for sun for you.”

And I had to  hug her. What a powerful thing to do for someone.

So, I think that’s going to be my new commitment: Every morning, I going to choose one of the amazing people in my life, and I’m going to pray for sun just for them.

Leave a Reply

