My Favorite Summer Memory

My favorite summer memory is of the entire summer of 1997. I was 15 that summer, and my brothers were 13, 9 and 5. We had just survived an incredible experience together, and that was one of the first summers that went back to "normal", or as normal as it could be.

It was the summer that I fell head over heels in love with baseball. Everything about it. Watching it. Playing it. Thinking about it. Keeping score. Minor leagues.

Everything.

We had all the time in the world, and it made us best friends. I think the best part, though, were the scars and the injuries because when I look back at them, they're funny. It was funny that I wanted so badly to keep up with my younger brothers.

It's funny that I still try so hard to do that.

Because there are 10 years between me and my youngest brother, that was probably the only summer where we were all old and young enough to have an experience like that.

The best part, though, is now that we're all technically adults, it's easy for us to be friends just like that again.

And, when I think about it, that's probably a huge reason why summer is my favorite time of the year.

Leave a Reply

