things like work

And umm…where have YOU been?

I think I heard that question about five times yesterday.

I’m just excited that I get to see you!

That one was from my mom.

So, it occurred to me that perhaps I’ve been working too hard. And then it further occurred to me that perhaps my workaholic tendencies (yes, tendencies, not workaholism) have reached new heights bordering on workaholism.

But in my defense, in addition to working what I have labeled should-be-but-aren’t-really-because-the-way-I-do-them three part-time jobs, I have also:

  • Finished First They Killed My Father by Loung Ung. Deeply, deeply disturbing and heart wrenching. Still not quite at the caliber of A Long Way Gone by Ishmael Beah which made me physically ill, but a very worthwhile read.
  • Not missed a single Dodger game in the past two weeks, including going to two last home stand. This is quite an accomplishment, considering that it’s downright painful to watch.
  • Started watching Keith and Rachel on nightly basis again so I actually know what’s going on in the world.
  • Kept up my running regime.

I officially realized that there are, in fact, enough hours in the day–if you plan correctly, drink a lot of caffeine and don’t mind a little sleep deprivation.

Oh! And the best part of all is that–I’ve got an idea. Two, in fact.

Leave a Reply

