“Brida” & Soul Mates

I spent last night reading the Coelho book I picked up at the library a couple of days ago.”Brida” was no different from any of Coelho’s books. It took  a very Catholic tradition and drew in another way of believing. In this case, it was witchcraft. And I know that is probably sacrilege to some people, but it really wasn’t. It was a very heartfelt following of the journey of the young Brida as she attempted to learn the secrets of the world.

The funny thing is that along the way she learns that she is going to find her Soul Mate (Coelho’s capitalization). And this is where Coelho does his magic. He says something that–for me–always feels like something I’ve always known without really knowing it. Or something that I’ve said half-way without being able to articulate it properly.

The energies of the world split up into millions of little pieces so much so that parts of your soul used to be parts of another soul. The awesome thing is that the other pieces are in someone else. He describes the “light” in someone’s eyes when you see your Soul Mate. It’s a nice thought.

And it makes a lot of sense. It goes back to something I just said last weekend at a wedding. That the instant attraction for me–not even romantically–is nothing more than feeling a matching energy from someone. The Light, I suppose.

How do we find them? In the book, it takes a lot of work to find one’s Soul Mate. But, I think that they have a certain way of finding you when you least expect it.

Leave a Reply

