writing on writing: round two

There’s a new word count.

It’s just one of those things. Even if no one else ever sees it, I know it’s there. It keeps me focused. I’m way too hard on myself to allow that number not to continually increase.

I’ve started again. It took a lot of deliberation, and I’m hoping that I made the right decision. But seeing as how I don’t really know what I’m doing in the first place, it would be kind of hard to mess it up. The general idea is that I’m going to go ahead and write this draft out (with the goal of finishing in April) and rework the outline for the first one in the class I’m taking now.

For the process, I’m going back to the three pages-a-day strategy. It worked really well for me last time, and it’s a very manageable goal. And it’s one of those things that when I need it to, the three pages can take 20 minutes and when I have the time, it can take 2 hours.

This time, I’m going to go with having people read it a few chapters at a time. Last time, I talked it through, which worked and didn’t work (but more about that in a moment). I have it set up to be read in an online forum of other writers, by one of my best friends, and two of my brothers (coincidentally, also two of my best friends).

I think I’ve put a lot more thought into the process this time, and because it’s my blog feel compelled to explain why.

The first major reason is that it is a mystery/thriller, and I know that creating a mess initially is going to be a lot harder to clean up.

The second is that I’ve found a series of classes that has provided the type of feedback I can work well with. And by extension, I know that the friends I have chosen to help know what they’re doing.

The last reason–and this goes back to the ‘more about that later’–is that when I was writing the first time, I talked it through because the conversations were about me as a writer, not the product. That was exactly what I needed at the time. It made me better and stronger. It was the perfect challenge (and the friend who did that is not able to help now–I reallllly miss him!). Then, it was about discipline.

With that being said, Lucha is well into the eighth chapter, and I have to admit that I’m enjoying it. My mom asked me tonight if I’m going to give myself nightmares. I had to think about it. I don’t think so, but I did tell her that I completely freaked out last night when I put a hooded sweatshirt on …

 

 

Leave a Reply

