bleed it out – my life as a non-runner

Okay so the good new is:

My 5k time outdoors is at 33:15 minutes. I have yet to work up the courage to run the actual route I’m going to do because I’m not excited about the hills. Maybe next week. Ugh. At least once.

The not-so-good news is:

For some reason there were a pair of flip-flops in my car (shocking, I know) so I thought I would take my shoes and socks off at the park because I hate sweaty socks. How awesome was it to find a blood-soaked sock. I find this amusing for two reasons:

  1. My initial reaction was, “Damn, these are new socks and now I’m going to have to throw one away.”
  2. I was just thinking the other day that my ability to shut out pain is both good and bad. Who knows how long it was bleeding, but I felt it at least beginning the second mile. Somehow still continued to complete 4 miles. (This coming after a day when the following three things were said to me by three different people: “you’re scrappy”, “you’d make a good deputy”, and “I bet you want to beat the —- out of someone”.)
Leave a Reply

