Kershaw’s Challenge

It’s no big secret that I love, love, love Clayton Kershaw. Mostly because he’s a lefty. And mostly because he’s had Cy Young written all over him from the first time I saw him pitch.

The funny thing is that I think now I love, love, love his wife even more.

I read about the Kershaws’ pledge of $100 for each strikeout Clayton registers this year, and it made me like them both even more. The goal is to raise $70,000 to build an orphanage in Zambia, where Ellen has visited frequently and Clayton made his first visit this offseason.

While I wish I could match their pledge, he’s just too good of a pitcher. So, I’m scaling it down to $1 per strikeout. I figure that way, I’ll make a minimum of a $200 contribution (hint, hint) to their fund this year. And it won’t be too bad to have to make a contribution every 5 days throughout the season.

After Opening Day, I’ve made the first $9 donation.

Check it out here!

Leave a Reply

