goals

I have 75 days off. Seriously. And I’m so excited about it, I quite literally can’t stand it. And because I believe that time is an incredible gift, I am intent upon not squandering it. I was making a mental list of all the things I want to accomplish in that time, but I realized they all point back to two major goals:

1. Write

The major goal is to finish the draft of the novel I’m working on right now. (That really fell to the wayside as I worked way too much.) Under that goal is to read. Really read. Fiction. Books on writing. Anything that will make me better. Under that goal is to write shorter stories and nonfiction (i.e. this blog and my baseball blog) just to keep the words flowing.

2. Run

The major goal on this one is to be prepared for a half-marathon in November. The really twisted, crazy part of me wants to do this at an 8:30 minute pace. I know it’s totally ridiculous considering I only started running two years ago, so I’m fully prepared to modify the goal if it seems impossible four months from now. Under that goal is to eat properly. Seriously. My eating habits in the past two months have been ridiculous. Not even junk food, but just not enough food. And under that is to sleep properly, which I think won’t be a problem once I really start to train and completely exhaust myself.

Simple enough, I think.

1 Comment

  1. In terms of eating, just eat ever 2-3 hours. I know it’s a pain, to begin with, but it’s a great way to keep your metabolism up and keep fueled. I usually eat breakfast at 7:30, snack at 10:30, lunch at noon, a snack at 2, another one at 4, eat my pre-workout snacks, then dinner. It seems like a lot, but once you get into the routine, it’s awesome.

    It’s kind of “hokey,” but I LOVE this website because it gives me great snack/food ideas: http://www.fitsugar.com

Leave a Reply

