lessons from my father

In honor of father’s day, I thought I would make a short list of things I’ve learned from my father. It occurs to me as I go through my day-to-day life that the lessons are immeasurable and invaluable:

  1. You can train yourself not to hate.
  2. Judgment is not our responsibility. Love simply and completely without judgment.
  3. There is great honor in all work.
  4. Liking and loving are two entirely different things. Choose who you like and love everyone.
  5. Don’t say what you don’t believe.
  6. “I think. I can.”
And my current favorite:
I have no idea what we were talking about, but I had to have been a teenager. We were trying to make a decision about something, and my father says, “I talked it over with myself, and I agreed.”
So #7 is even if you’re standing alone, agreeing with yourself is more than enough to carry on.
Happy Father’s Day!
Leave a Reply

