character overhaul (umm … rewrite)

It started driving over the 6th Street Bridge. I have to remember the exact location just in case it’s significant to the thought process. A person in the car next to me flicked a cigarette butt out of the window.

Why doesn’t she smoke?

The main characters of both of the novels I have drafted are women. And I think in my efforts to make them completely different, the second one is a little less strong that I’d like her to be. She’s definitely more reckless, but at times, to me, it seems that it’s without warrant. She definitely has a “because I can” attitude about things. Not that smoking would change any of this, but she definitely lacks a certain element of character that I want.

I don’t think that investigator Teresa Jordan will turn out to smoke at all, but I think it was important for me to think about why she doesn’t. The only problem (?) is that now she’s been stuck in my head for the past few days. That’s not entirely a bad thing, but it does make life a little interesting. And my apartment cleaner than it’s been in a while.

Leave a Reply

