AIDS/LifeCycle – Training Week 1

Because of my work schedule, I’m going to log my training weeks from Friday to the following Thursday. It was a pretty good week. No injuries. And I was able to complete all of the workouts, which is the bigger concern I had initially.

Day One – Friday 

Short ride. It was a debate between hill repeats and sprint intervals. A Boyle Heights route was the compromise. I never realized why they call it Boyle “Heights” until I rode there for the first time. 14.04 miles with an average 5:31 minute mile. It was a good ride to warm up for the longer Saturday ride.

Day Two – Saturday

Long ride. This was the Three Rivers ride. It was a really good ride without any major problems. 75.45 miles with an average 4:50 minute mile. (That sub-5 minute mile showed me how hilly the previous day’s ride was.)

Day Three – Sunday

Was supposed to be a recovery ride. I skipped it because I had to work, and I honestly needed the rest. 75 miles for the first time made me really need to give my legs a rest.

Day Four – Monday

Power walk. Or in my words, “I need to use my legs in another way.” This was actually tougher than the long ride. My co-worker emphasizes the power in these walks. 5.10 miles.

Day Five – Tuesday

Actual rest day. Yay! It’s my longest day of work, so I figured it would be the best day to rest.

Day Six – Wednesday

In the gym. Stationary bike for 10 miles of hill intervals. 15 minutes on the elliptical. And about 10 minutes of core work. My not-so-favorite part of working out.

Day Seven – Thursday

Treadmill. Very easy run. 5 miles. I ended with six 90-second boxing intervals on a punching bag.

It wasn’t too bad of a first week. I thought the plan was manageable, and the adjustments (particularly dropping Sunday’s ride) made sense for where I’m at.

If you’d like to support my participation in this ride, $10 will do it!

cyclistasmall

Leave a Reply

